30th International Wittgenstein Symposium (2007): Philosophy of the Information Society - Philosophie der Informationsgesellschaft

Philosophers work on texts employing genres that have been familiar for hundreds of years: essays, reference works, lectures etc. Modern information and communication technologies now challenge such endeavour with a hitherto unimagined field of possibilities, while the Internet has expanded the spectrum still further.

It is not just a matter of “transporting texts across the web”. Email, chats, virtual communities, interactive text production and multimedia presentations all confront traditional philosophy with barely explored forms of expression and professional activity. The knowledge society is founded on digital techniques that also imply a transformation of the instruments used in knowledge work. The consequences reach as far as the most elementary forms of communication within the humanities.

What is information? What are distinct philosophical perspectives on information? Has the concept of information changed with the digital turn? Have our hermeneutic practices and concepts changed with the digital turn? Is text practice in the digital age fundamentally different from text practice in the book era? What positive impact can web technologies like information science ontologies have on our processing of content? Or shall we rather be sceptical about their value and functionality? Has the philosophy of media yet understood the implications of the digital turn? What are the ethical implications of the digital turn? Can a computer be evil? Is it imperative to practice open access, open source and open standards? How far has philosophy come in the implementation of digital media for transmission of philosophical content and research? What is the relation between the knowledge society and the information society? In what way can Wittgenstein help us to respond adequately to these questions? Has digital Wittgenstein publishing and research gathered experiences which can be utilized more generalized?

These are some of the questions of the 30th Austrian Ludwig Wittgenstein Society (ALWS) Wittgenstein Symposium in Kirchberg, Lower Austria, August 5-11, 2007. The conference is organized by Alois Pichler (WAB) and Herbert Hrachovec (Univ. of Vienna). The program is available from the ALWS site.

Contributors include:

Aleksandra Derra, Alexandr Sobancev, Allen Renear, Alois Pichler, A. Zöllner-Weber, Anat Biletzki, Andrea Adelsburg, Andrzej Nowak, August Fenk, Barbara Becker, Cameron McEwen, Cesare Rocchi, Charles Ess, Chris Chesher, Christian Erbacher, Christian Wenzel, Christian Zelger, Claus Huitfeldt, Claus Pias, Craig Fox, C. Borgoni-Goncalves, Cristina Marras, Cynthia Haynes, Dan Dusa, Dan Nesher, Daniel Apollon, Daniel Kuby, Daniel Schmid, David Stern, Deirdre Smith, Dieter Köhler, Dominik Lewinski, Dominique Foray, Elena Najera, Endre Kiss, Eran Guter, Ewa Binczyk, Fabio Miranda, Frank Hartmann, Fred Dretske, Georg Friedrich, Gerhard Clemenz, Giorgio Fotia, Giridhari Pandit, Gloria Zuniga, Gregory Chaitin, Hajo Greif, Harald Edelbauer, Herbert Hrachovec, Istvan Danka, Ivan Spajic, Jih-Ching Ho, J. dos Santos, J. de Mul, Jose Ariso, Josef Rothhaupt, Joseph Wang, Josip Lukin, Josipa Grigic, Juliet Floyd, Kai-Yuan Cheng, Katalin Neumer, Kerstin Mayr, Kristijan Krkac, Kristof Nyiri, Krzysztof Abriszewski, Laurian Kertesz, Lemaire Eric, Lev Lamberov, Lidia Mazhul, Luciano Bazzocchi, Luciano Floridi, L. Valdes-Villanueva, M. Pinedo-García, Marcin Trybulec, Marcos Pinheiro, Marek Graszewicz, Marek Hetmanski, Martin Lindner, Martin Pleitz, Matthias Kroß, Matthias Unterhuber, Maurizio Ferraris, Maurycy Graszewicz, Michael Heim, Michael Luger, Michael Maurer, Michael Nentwich, Michele Pasin, Montgomery Link, Murilo Seabra, Newton Garver, N. Gottschalk-Mazouz, Nikolay Milkov, Nuno Venturinha, Ondrej Beran, Ora Gruengard, Paolo D’Iorio, Peter Fleissner, Peter Keicher, Peter Kirschenmann, Peter Westergaard, Philip Jones, Priyambada Sarkar, Rainer Born, Regina Queiroz, Reinhard Margreiter, Rishab Ghosh, Rui Silva, Siegfried Schmidt, Silvia Lanzetta, Sindre Sørensen, Stefan Gradmann, Stefan Majetschak, Stefano David, Terje Aaberge, Theo Hug, Thomas Binder, Thomas Binder, Thomas Wachtendorf, Timm Lampert, Tuomas Manninen, Tuukka Tomperi, Ulrike Ramming, Ursula Schneider, Ursula Schneider, Vaclav Brezina, Victor Rodych, Vladimir Lobovikov, Vladimir Petrov, Wilhelm Krüger, Winfried Löffler, Wlodzimierz Heflik, Wolfgang Coy, Yrsa Neuman, Yukiko Okamoto, Zsuzsanna Kondor.